If ones motives are wrong, nothing can be right .

-G.W. Carver.

Vocabulary.com defines motive as “the psychological feature that arouses an organism to action toward a desired goal; the reason for the action; that which gives purpose and direction to behavior”

But….      In a layman’s term…., (that is in my head😀😀)  motive can simply be said to be the REASON behind the ACTION.

Hey FAM, am sure by now you either know where I’m heading to OR you are like ‘what in the world’s name is this girl talking about?’😀😀😀 well if you fall in the latter group..hehehehe!, Ma binu( it means i’m sorry or don’t be vexed).           Okay okayyy but just before I unconfuse the confused, let me start with a tiny story

Sometime back in my universities days, the desire to sing appeared from only God knows where… A few friends had deceived me that I had a lovely voice….hahahaha and  ohhh boy was I dumb to believe them. Now hold on!!!! My voice wasn’t that bad sooo stop laughing, 😒😒😒but it definitely wasn’t lovely.

Now being newly converted believer I was experiencing Gods mercy so much and of course I wanted to testify to Gods goodness during a particular Sunday service. Can you guess how I wanted to testify??

Hehehe you got it right…. I wanted to sing to the glory of God😀😀… But I had made a dangerous prayer a few days back concerning my singing… Wanna know what I said… ” dear Lord, if I ever sing my testimony.., not to your glory but so people would hear how sweet I thought my voice was, please let me sing off-key”.

So back to the story, and as you know I decided to sing my testimony…………….. Ahhhhh! It was horrible, if you are music inclined you’ll understand what I mean when I say I was swapping parts, from soprano to tenor to auto to treble…., in one very short song. I was so embarrassed, after the service, my girlfriend came up to me laughing and was like “Joy weytin  happen… That your special number wan destroy my ear drum” I honestly wished the ground would swallow me.

On getting to my hostel, still embarrassed from the events of d day, laying on my bed I wondered why I had sang so terribly and that was when I remembered my prayer…, then and only then did I truly check the reason why I wanted to sing my testimony.

I was doing the right thing for the wrong reason, and at the end of the day…., it brought only shame.

Now you see guys, some or most of us are victims of these things: wrong motives but right actions. 

Have you ever stopped to ask yourself     ” why am I doing what I am doing?”……..Those clothes you gave out, or the gifts you bought for that special person, or the reason why you signed up to be a chorister/ a worker in God’s vineyard, or the money you gave your friend the other day!, WHY DID YOU DO IT?

Did you give, so that when you want to ask for a favour later on, the person wouldn’t be able to say no!, are you a chorister just because you believe you have a great voice and you just want people to know, are you giving out that gift to the orphanage so people will see you and praise you, are you praying ever so loudly, so people will hear and know you are a prayer warrior and God’s own child?.

I’m 100% certain that this is the reason the bible says and I quote: 2We justify our actions by appearances; God examines our motive.” 8.Mixed motives twist life into tangles;pure motives take you straight down the road.

                                               -Proverbs 21:2&8( Msg ).

As a child of God who strives to make heaven at the end of the day…. Never justify your actions by how good they were, but the MOTIVE behind the action.

Thank you for reading and from now on, do an appraisal of your action…ask yourself, why am I really doing this?.

God bless… Xoxo😘😘😘😘😘😘😘😘😘

Leave a Reply

